Condemnation

Posted: April 16, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags:

When one is caught in sin, the person would deny, cover up, justify the action or simply ignore the confrontation. What started out as a simple confrontation may end up condemning a person. What begins as an inquiry ends up as a witch hunting session. We say we are not supposed to condemn a person, but when one sins, it is so easy to condemn and pick on him as if he is “pulutan” or someone we feast about in gossip circles, eventually making the person leave the church and not come back. What the sinner did is wrong, but what the reaction of the church is usually wrong as well. One cannot say “I didn’t condemn” because deep down inside us, we all would have a sense of self-righteousness inside us. That makes all of us pharisees.

When Jesus Christ came into the world, he went with people we would be putting labels on. Tax collectors, prostitutes, stinky fishermen, and Jesus broke barriers by reaching out to the lost. He did not condemn, He simply was a friend to the sinners.

I feel exhausted after one incident that we have to face someone from the team. Even if I was inhibited from the confrontation, I felt I was condemning the person deep within me. I felt I was pointing my fingers at him and screaming “guilty! guilty! guilty!” Then I checked myself and saw that the difference between the guy and me was that I know how to hide better than him, that I know how to keep a line between work and my favorite sins, that I maintained a dual lifestyle.

Woe is me, a man of unclean lips (Isa. 6:5). My prayer is found in Psalm 51:10…God, make a fresh start in me, shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life (The Message).

Leave a Reply

