Wrestling with my thoughts

Posted: August 9, 2014 in psalms

How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
and day after day have sorrow in my heart?
Psalm 13:2

A lot of things are in my plate right now. Seems like a job for Superman. From the feeling of being overwhelmed, to the heart break of leading men to be Christ-like, to studying passages of Scripture, to handling issues which are never ending, These are days when I just want to disappear for a while.

But I trust in your unfailing love;
my heart rejoices in your salvation.
Psalm 13:5

Then the psalmist reminded me, trust in God’s love. It will be enough to carry us through the difficult days. Trust in a love that never fails, He hasn’t abandoned us, He is Immanuel, God with us. It is hard to trust when our minds are full of doubts. It is hard to think of love when what we have a lot of issues to face and a lot of things to do. In fact, when we are “doing” something, it is hard to trust because we tend to go to the side of “working” God’s love to us rather than just trust in His unfailing love.

Trust in His unfailing love, and rejoice in His salvation. One day, there will be no more pain. No more sorrow. He has redeemed us now, but a day will come where He will also redeem us from earthly sufferings.

The Psalms really help me this week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

