Forgetting my sins

Posted: September 8, 2014 in psalms

Remember your mercy, O Lord, and your steadfast love,
for they have been from of old.
Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions;
according to your steadfast love remember me,
for the sake of your goodness, O Lord!
Psalm 25:6-7

If I were to remember the sins of my youth, I know it would be probably those embarrasing stories. I would be asking myself, “what on earth was I thinking?” I was one of those who broke the law literally over and over again. Driving without a driver’s license, check. How about the time I forged my mom’s signature on a check? check. Sold marijuana wrapped in papaya leaves? check. and countless other more stories of my transgressions.

This psalm is a reminder that God is…

#1 merciful. I don’t deserve his mercies but let me tell you that His mercies are indeed new every morning. He extends grace upon grace each day. And it is going to last for eternity. That’s who He is.

#2 Loving. and add the word “steadfast” which means fixed, firm, or steady. His love is something I can rely on because it isn’t unchanging. He loves us because of who He is and not what we can do. I have to remind myself of that over and over again.

#3 Forgiving. God doesn’t list down our sins. If we confess, He forgives. If we repent, He hears.

With the three attributes in two verses, I could really say…”God! You’re amazing.

So how do we respond?

First, we can show mercy to others. They don’t have to be deserving. We don’t deserve grace either.

Second, practice loving. Love those who doesn’t love us back. Love those people we don’t want to be serving.

And Lastly, learn how to forgive. This one is what I think is hard. But we need to do it because our Father is a forgiver, and it would rub off on us too.

I’m glad God doesn’t remember my sins. I would be so embarrassed when we reach heaven and we are dining with the king, and someone blurts out my transgression in front of everyone anyway. God would stop the person and say…”I’ve paid for that in full.

Amazing grace indeed.

Leave a Reply

