Who do you run to?

Posted: September 9, 2014 in psalms

When sorrow surrounds you, who do you run into?

I think, at times, we choose our own poison. Some go into the road of drinking, others go into physically hurting themselves. The psalmist on the other hand chose to turn to the one who could deliver him out of his troubles.

Turn to me and be gracious to me,
for I am lonely and afflicted.
The troubles of my heart are enlarged;
bring me out of my distresses.
Consider my affliction and my trouble,
and forgive all my sins.

Psalms 25:16-18

In this psalm, we can see that God is gracious. Gracious is defined as merciful, compassionate, and pleasantly kind. God does not only forgive our sins but He also extends compassion by helping us out of our troubles. He is merciful that He wouldn’t leave us in our afflictions. He is kind that He would be with us in our loneliness. Not only is graciousness seen in Him, He also forgives. For when we are afflicted and lonely, we tend to say things we ought not to say, or do things we shouldn’t be doing. It is comforting that God is gracious and forgiving.

So in your down moments, who do you run to?

Run to God. He considers our troubles.

 

 

Leave a Reply

