Test and Try

Posted: September 13, 2014 in psalms
I remember looking at the church clock and saw that it was not working. I went out to the nearby store and bought batteries. Funny thing is, I was being a cheapskate and I bought batteries which has no brand. I bought four of them just in case one does not work. When I returned to place one battery in the clock, it didn’t work. So I tried the other batteries. Not one of them worked. I didn’t test out the batteries while they were in the store. The psalmist was somehow similar in the situation where in he said…
Test me, O LORD, and try me,
examine my heart and my mind.
Psalm 26:2

Can we really say this prayer? Lord, test me! Lord, try me! Would we come out as working or defective? Would we be passing the test or flunking it? Would we come out as excellent ones or would we be considered fake?

I am reminded that the only reason why God would even try us is because we have been changed, we are new creations (2 Cor. 5:17). We’re brand new. We’re sure of that. We don’t age and expire because when we are in Christ, we are new. That’s a fact. Our freshness is dependent in Christ.

Next thing we can look up is our hearts and our minds.

As we let God examine our hearts, we should ask, is He still in our hearts? Are the things of God what drives us? Or is our hearts longing for something else?

Also ask, what is on our mind? More than a status message, is God still who we think of or are we looking for ways to please ourselves?

May we come to a point that we pray that God would test us and try us on a daily basis.

I ended up going back to the store and changing the batteries with a new one, branded this time. The lesson was worth it.

Leave a Reply

