Shield

Posted: September 19, 2014 in psalms

A shield reminds me of battle scenes in ancient warfare. A shield is primarily a defensive object to protect the warrior from projectile debris and from incoming blows from a sword or a spear. This usually protects the combatant. Sometimes, the shield can also be used as a weapon as well, but that would be in a rare case. The psalmist speaks of the Lord being his shield.

The Lord is my strength and my shield;
in him my heart trusts, and I am helped;
my heart exults,
and with my song I give thanks to him.
Psalm 28:7

Two things I observe about God in this verse. First, God is our strength. Our power to fight the battle is not from our gut, our instinct or our resources but on God. We face the war head on because we can rely on God. A warrior trains himself on a daily basis so that on the day of battle, he can be able to withstand the onslaught. As a child of God, we are to draw our strength daily from His word, be able to grasp that we can’t do it on our own. That we have to rely on God in everything. To draw strength from God meant totally relying on Him in everything.

Second observation is that God is our shield. He is our protector. He is the one who would defend us. As a guy, I would want to be on an offensive when the battle rages on. An issue comes my way? I would want to fight it out. A problem arise? I would want to face it head on and brawl. However, the psalm reminds me that the battle is not won by my strength, and it is God who would defend me instead. That is somehow a different approach in facing problems. This psalm is indeed teaching us about faith!

When we trust in the Lord, when we surrender our warrior mode and let God be our strength and shield, the next thing we can expect is his help. God has a way of removing me from the battle and fixes the situation which I seem to be trapped in. If not for God, I don’t think I would be where I am right now. Looking back at my journal entries, I find God’s grace in my life over and over. He indeed helps His son (or daughter) when we come to a point of surrendering everything.

When victory comes, we can then rejoice and sing. Singing is indeed associated with winning the battle. Just like the cheering when the school wins a game, or similar to how a university throws a bonfire when celebrating a victory, Singing a song of thanksgiving is indeed, God-glorifying. We can honor God through our songs.

So, Are you trapped in debt, or someone in your family is sick? Let God be your strength.

Are you in a helpless situation right now? Let God be your shield.

Love life is becoming an issue? Learn to trust the one who holds the hearts.

When the help comes, we can then sing a song of thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

