Planning

Posted: October 4, 2014 in psalms

It’s the time of the year when we start planning for another year ahead. Personally, I look forward to what’s going to happen next year. I set my eyes on graduating in March, taking the much-delayed vacation of going around Cebu, of being the host of a youth camp, and my list goes on and on.

In the process of planning, I realized I had a lot of plans for myself, of what I wanted to do with my life. I had to pause and ask, am I still in line with God’s purpose for me? The psalmist reminded me…

The plans of the Lord stand firm forever,
the purposes of his heart through all generations.
Psalm 33:11

The lesson I learned from this is…

#1 God has a plan. When He created each of us, He has a plan in mind. When He gifted us with skills and abilities, there was a specific reason on why He did so. He isn’t like an inventor who does trial and error. Each specific gift is given and it is aligned with His plan.

#2 God’s plan is firm. It stands forever. I remember planning a frisbee game and saying, “if it rains, I have to do a plan B”. God doesn’t have a plan B. He plans and executes what He planned. He doesn’t only think of now (like most of us do). He plans long term. Forever.

So what do we do with this information?

We can plan, we can look forward to doing a lot of things, but we also have to ask ourselves, is this what God wants in my life? How do I fit God in the picture of what I am planning?

One of my peers helped me by simplifying it in 4 letters.

HGMD.

Honor God. Make Disciples.

Does my plan honor God? Does my plan include making disciples? If the answer is a big “yes”, then go for it! If the answer is “no” or a “maybe”, rethink, get back to the drawing board, and pray.

So, how about that vacation next year?

We’ll see. God willing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

