Be Still

Posted: October 18, 2014 in psalms

“Be still, and know that I am God.
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!”
Psalm 46:10

One of the problems men have is being still. We are solution oriented beings who wants to fix things and solve problems rather than doing nothing. We are inclined to move, to spring into action. This psalm speaks of being still and God being exalted above the nations. God is powerful that He can do things even without our efforts. Sometimes, we think activity is an accomplishment but God says, be still.

The second point we observe in this psalm is ‘know who God is’. When we move, we tend to steal the glory of God. When someone praises us, it feels so good that we can steal God’s glory at that point. To know God requires being still. Waiting. Patiently seeking what the master wants. Listening to instructions. Observing what He is doing.

When God does something, I can feel my dependency on Him grow as His works are beyond my imagination. And that did not require any effort on my part but wait. Let me share one example.

As a student, I need to survive by paying my rent, laundry, food, transportation and of course, tuition fee. I also work as a video editor as means to survive. I then pray and ask God how would I get by, month after month. Being still is not exactly my first option. But then God would remind me to ‘be still and know that I am God’. So the challenge of waiting is there. God provides by sending other people to help out in His own time and method. I can firmly say that God has supplied for my needs that I gave not missed paying my rent and laundry. He also gives me client without me posting in facebook or me broadcasting to the world that I am a video editor.

In my life, I can say that being still and letting God take control and have the glory is evident. I cannot boast in anything but the grace given to me. I have nothing to proclaim but God, His hand is present everyday.

By being still and letting God be God, we can observe at what God would do. I remember one line from the wife of one of my friends, she said, ‘let God “wow” you today’. She meant to say that we have to allow God to move.

It’s a challenge to be still.

‘Lord, how about in my love life?’

‘Child…be still. Know that I am God.’

‘But Lord…’

‘I will be exalted in your life. Among the nations’.

Be still.

Leave a Reply

