Compassion

Posted: November 8, 2014 in thought to ponder

praying for the sick

One of the things I do not really look forward to is hospital visit. It is emotionally draining and it bothers me to pray for healing when the person is dying. Even if the person is healed, in a sense, gone home to be with the Lord, where there is no more pain and sickness, no more hospital bills, no more injections and IV tubes, it still is painful to watch the effect of sin in this fallen world as a patient die. So when my mentor asked us to go to the hospital, I went along with the knowledge that the patient being visited is already at a critical stage.

I remember a passage in the book of Matthew chapter nine verse thirty six…

When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd…

Jesus had compassion for people, so should I. If there are times that I am not compassionate, I would look back to the Master Shepherd, and look at my case, that He was compassionate towards me, and my response is to be compassionate towards others…specially to the lost, to the harassed and helpless, to those who needs to know Christ.

Tiring, yes, but at the end of the day, God shows compassion towards the lost, and so should I.

Leave a Reply

