Et tu, Brute?

Posted: November 8, 2014 in psalms

If an enemy were insulting me,
I could endure it;
if a foe were rising against me,
I could hide.
But it is you, a man like myself,
my companion, my close friend,
with whom I once enjoyed sweet fellowship
at the house of God,
as we walked about
among the worshipers.
Psalm 55:12-14

One of the most painful things that could ever happen to man is being betrayed by a friend. For someone whom we confide our darkest secrets, our deepest thoughts, or someone who spent time with us, who knows our warts and wrinkles (or farts and pimples…if you belong to my generation <ahem>), who dined with us, who knows our wifi password at home, who we talk to when we were friendzoned, who accompanied us in mission trips, and the list could go on and on.

The psalmist was not alone. Jesus was betrayed by the men whom he called his friends. His own disciple sold him. The ones who were close to him chose to run. His friend denied him three times. Where was the crowd in a time that He needed support? Where were the people he healed, he ministered to, he encouraged?

The psalmist continued…

My companion attacks his friends;
he violates his covenant.
His talk is smooth as butter,
yet war is in his heart;
his words are more soothing than oil,
yet they are drawn swords.
Psalm 55:20-21

Where are the promises of “friends forever”? Where are the words of encouragement that I’d be there no matter what happens? I guess it is all but words. So what do we do when betrayal comes upon us?

Cast your cares on the Lord
and he will sustain you;
he will never let
the righteous be shaken.
Psalm 55:22

The psalmist reminds us to trust the Lord. He is going to sustain us. To keep us. No matter how bad the betrayal would be, He is going to be there all throughout our ordeal.

Et tu, Brute?

Leave a Reply

