Every single tear…

Posted: November 12, 2014 in psalms

You’ve kept track of my every toss and turn
through the sleepless nights,
Each tear entered in your ledger,
each ache written in your book.
Psalm 56:8, The Message

Emo mode. There are just times when I am sleepless, when things are so overwhelming and I pray that I could just get through the night. There are days when sleep is really elusive. I would count myself blessed if I could sleep for a few hours. When we encounter problems that cause us to be awake, what do we do? This psalm teaches me about God.

He cares. He knows my pain. He knows what I am going through. He sees me in my sleeplessness. He knows what my heart is aching for. In fact, He knows that my heart is so fickle, it would keep on pursuing someone else, or something else, but still He knows and He is there. He knows my struggle. He keeps record of every tear, every ache, every hurt. He is God who knows and who cares.

So what to do when things are not falling into place? What to do when sleeplessness nights come? What do we do when the hurts are so overwhelming?

Run to Him. Tell Him all about it. Instead of counting sheep, talk to the shepherd.

Leave a Reply

