What’s in your playlist?

Posted: November 25, 2014 in psalms

A few weeks ago, my english teacher posted a link about watching MTVs (or Music Videos). Today, while reading the psalm, I am reminded of the songs I sing (similar to the videos we feed our minds with). From the golden oldies to the new ones, I think I have a set in mind if ever it comes to going to a videoke. BUT. I am not really comfortable singing in front of people. So going back to the psalm, the psalmist talks about singing about God.

But I will sing of your strength,
in the morning I will sing of your love;
for you are my fortress,
my refuge in times of trouble.
Psalm 59:16

Two observations I find about singing…

#1 He talks about singing of God’s strength.
In a culture that sings of doing things our way (my way or the highway), in a generation that is so obsessed with the I-me-mine mindset, with a media that’s so bombarded with sex and graphic violence, do we find ourselves singing about the strength of God? (But kuya…the song “God is the strength of my life” is so old…Don Moen is now in his 60s, duh!) The point here is this. Think about God. Sing about God. His characteristics. My dad once said…

If you don’t enjoy God on earth,
you won’t enjoy Him in heaven either.

#2 He talks about singing of God’s love.
I love listening to love songs. It makes me have a range of emotions from melancholic to euphoric (or from friendzoned songs to marriage songs). Check the lyrics of the songs that you sing and think about the love of God too.

So I’m gonna be sharing my playlist. (I encourage you to sing with me! hahaha!)

Whom Shall I fear (Chris Tomlin)
Lead Me (Sanctus Real)
Live with Abandon (Newsboys)
He knows my name (Francesca Battistelli)
Busted Heart (For King and Country)
I’m Alive (Peter Furler)
Losing (Tenth Avenue North)
What love really means (JJ Heller)
Hello, my name is… (Matthew West)
The Hammer Holds (Bebo Norman)

So what’s on your playlist? Sing about God’s strength. Sing about God’s love.

Leave a Reply

