Name your enemies…

Posted: November 28, 2014 in psalms

Give us aid against the enemy,
for human help is worthless.
With God we will gain the victory,
and he will trample down our enemies.
Psalm 60:11-12 NIV

There are days when the battle is thick, when my imagination is so overwhelming. With this psalm, I’m listing the things that are my “enemies”…

#1 Procrastination. I am one of those who are “classically trained to cram”. I usually make excuses that I am better when the pressures are up.

#2 Fear. I think there are days when I fear more about the future, about my budget, about being loved back, of ending up being alone.

#3 The Past. Sometimes, my self esteem goes on a haywire and goes to the extreme of self pity and depression, that my past makes me unworthy of leading people, of sharing the Gospel, of being able to do things for the Lord.

#4 Dryness. There are times when I can’t write anything or listen to what God is saying. Feels like a writer’s block.

…and there are a lot more. When these things happen, it is the moment when I cry on my knees. For human help is worthless. No amount of advice, no amount of encouragement can get me back on my feet. It is through His word that I am strengthened, and I once again go back up. His grace keeps me going.

I am reminded that at the end of the day, it is God who gives the victory.

With God we will gain the victory…

He is the one who tramples our enemies. Sometimes, the worst enemy we can have is ourselves. Hence, we need to constantly surrender to God. When things are overwhelming, cry out to God. Name your enemies, and give it to God.

Leave a Reply

