Trust not your instincts.

Posted: December 23, 2014 in devotionals
Tags: , ,

Trust

There are moments in my life where I would choose to trust my instincts more than God’s word. I think I am one of the most doubtful person alive on earth. I would doubt, I would wrestle with God, I would bargain, and I would want to insist on doing things my way. My dear friend once told me,

“there’s a difference between perseverance and stubborness.”

A lot of times, I’d like to trust my instincts more than what God is saying. This is when logic and reasoning defies what’s happening in front of me. Here’s the thing, God is not bound by the rules of man. He can’t be told what to do, after all He is the creator.

So when Scriptures tell us…

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
and do not lean on your own understanding.
(Prov. 3:5)

How do we trust in the Lord when things are getting out of control? How do we not lean on our own understanding when we are trained to do things, when instinctively, we would rather be doing something than to trust God. How do we trust His promises when our hands are itching to do something about our situation? (Specially as men, we tend to look for solutions when a problem presents itself.)

To trust God, it means…

#1 We learn to wait.

God’s timing is different from ours. We can only see a few steps ahead, God sees the whole picture. There is a reason why God allows a situation to come our way (although sometimes the situation is a consequence of our actions). God is in control, He is sovereign, He knows what is going to happen because He planned it, and He said so. How many times has the Bible spoke of waiting?

Psalms 27:14…Wait for the Lord…
Psalms 37:34…Wait for the Lord and keep his way…
Isaiah 30:18…blessed are all those who wait for him.
Isaiah 40:31…those who wait on the Lord…
Lamentations 3:25…The LORD is good to those who wait for him…
Micah 7:7…I will wait for the God of my salvation…
Acts 1:4…wait for the promise of the Father.

How many stories has Scriptures given as an example for waiting?

Jacob waited seven years for Rachel. Then He worked seven more years to win her (Gen.29). Saul lost a kingdom because he could not wait (1 Sam. 13). David waited before he could rule over Israel (2 Samuel 5).

Trusting God, meant trusting His timing.

#2 We lean on His promises.

It is easy to trust instincts than promises. It is because our instincts would go for the logical and reasonable way, and sometimes, God uses that, but other times, we just have to trust His promises specially when things are not going our way. What are some promises that we highlighted in our Bibles? Write it down. Recall it. Reflect on it.

Be strong and courageous…for I am with you (Deut. 31:6)
My God will supply all your needs (Phil. 4:19)
Nothing can separate me from God’s love (Rom. 8:37-39)
Whoever comes to me (Jesus) I will never cast out (John 6:37)
If I confess my sins, He will forgive (1 John 1:9)
Cast my anxieties, for He cares (1 Peter 5:7)

Personally, I can cling on to the promises even if I wrestle with God. He shows the way. He directs my paths. I just have to learn to trust Him.

So yes, trust not in your instincts. Trust His promises. We may be tempted to go for the safe route, but we miss what God has in store for us when we don’t trust.

Leave a Reply

