Last breath

Posted: December 31, 2014 in devotionals
Tags: , , ,

Joseph, in his final hours, thought of the promises of God to the house of Israel. He knew that Egypt was just temporary. He knew that one day, they will be out of the land and that they would be where God promised them to be. Such faith! God promised his great grandfather, Abraham, that they will have a land, that they will be slaves of a nation for 400 years, and Joseph, even if he was royalty in Egypt, didn’t want to be buried there.

Then Joseph made the sons of Israel swear, saying, “God will surely visit you, and you shall carry up my bones from here.” (Gen. 50:25)

In the last moments of the year, what are the things we are holding on to? Do we cling on to the promises of God or are we one of those who would seek our fortune from other people’s lips? Are we like Joseph, in His final hours, who could have faith in God and cling on to His words?

Personally, I am looking forward to the year ahead. I am putting my life in the line because I know of Him who holds my heart. I can be certain that He has a plan for me because no matter what happens, He is the God who steadies my heart. Look at the promises He gave you. Cling on it, even in your last breath.

Leave a Reply

