Changing Tires

Posted: January 1, 2015 in thought to ponder
Tags: , ,
easy as 1-2-3!

easy as 1-2-3!

 

I still remember the time my dad taught me how to remove a flat tire. The instructions were pretty simple. Everyday, before you leave, make sure your tools are in the car. Then, when a flat tire comes, you have to unscrew the tire first, just to loosen it up, then set the jack, then screw towards the left to remove the tire nuts from the car. Then the pattern should be similar to a star, start at the lowest point then going upper right, then go down to the left, then across it. Quite simple. What I didn’t understand is why I should be doing this chore when we have a flat tire. We are in the city. There are a lot of vulcanizing shops around. We could simply get someone to do the job anyway. I loathed the job every time we had a flat tire (and we have a flat once a month…minimum). I really didn’t see the wisdom of why I should do this menial task every time.

Start of 2015. My siblings and I were out for breakfast and when we returned to the car, it was flat. We were looking at each other and then I remembered so well how to do the things I loathed doing. In fact, there was no choice since it was a holiday, and shops were closed. I remember removing the tire but due to lack of practice, what usually takes 15 minutes, took 30 minutes to remove and replace the tire.

I am grateful my dad taught me how to remove a tire. As I write down this illustration, I remember pushing the youth to do the task of doing their devotional, day after day. I remember telling them to pray for one another, and now I remember my father. I guess as spiritual fathers, we are to teach our “kids” things they can use when we are no longer around. Have we taught them enough that they could read on their own, pray on their own? Our job is not to spoon feed our flock. Our job is to equip the people for works of service (Ephesians 4:11-12).

Ask yourselves…am I equipping the flock or spoonfeeding them?

By the way, thanks dad. The lesson from years ago served its purpose. I am grateful for the lesson on changing tires.

Leave a Reply

