Is the Ten Commandments relevant to us today?

Posted: January 15, 2015 in thought to ponder
Tags:

Read: Matthew 5:13-20

I’m preparing for my sermon on Sunday. The topic I will be sharing is on the ten commandments. Growing up, I wanted to veer away from the ten commandments because I felt that it was more of “don’t” rather than “do”. It feels like a set of rules in which I felt back then, were things I would not be doing anyway. I thought of the ten commandments as commands, for the Israelites, and that we are under a new covenant. But reading through Scriptures, this verse struck me…

Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. (Matthew 5:17)

Let’s rewind a bit.

Back in the time of Jesus Christ, back in the time when he was walking on earth, the Old Testament was divided into The Law and the Prophets. Jesus was saying, He isn’t abolishing the Old Testament, rather He is fulfilling them. Does that include the Ten Commandments? The Ten Commandments are found in The Law, therefore, Jesus is fulfilling them.

You see, the ten commandments tells us the “how to” part of loving God. Like it is saying, if you love me, you won’t do these, and you would do these. The first four is all about God, and the second part is about loving others. Hence, Jesus summarized it with Love the LORD your God and loving your neighbor.

We are not forced to obey the ten commandments out of obligation, we are compelled to obey it because of the depth of His love for us.

Leave a Reply

