Sinulog 2015

Posted: January 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

Reblogging from a fellow sojourner! 🙂

musings...

At the end of my second week here, I participated in Sinulog 2015. It is a an annual and cultural festival that celebrates that coming of the Santo Niño and the acceptance of Christianity (specifically Roman Catholicism) to the Philippines. Since it’s religious beginnings it has evolved to become a huge city-wide celebration that starts at 1pm and ends at 3am or later the next day. The party is very much like a daytime rave with people spraying beer, throwing paint, and just dancing it out. It was definitely an experience I won’t soon forget.

The delightful people who braved the crowds so I could experience Sinulog. FtoB: Toby, Joel, Victoria, Marijim, Aja, Gabo, me (missing: Jam) The delightful people who braved the crowds so I could experience Sinulog. FtoB: Toby, Joel, Victoria, Marijim, Aja, Gabo, me (missing: Jam)

IMG_0870 This picture isn’t an accurate representation of the crowds. They were insane.

My Sinulog experience made me think of all the people that come to these events.

We live in a world that…

View original post 653 more words

Leave a Reply

