Is there rewards for Christians?

Posted: April 11, 2015 in TLCC
Tags: , ,
Life is a race. It’s not a sprint where one rushes to finish. It is a marathon, meant to be finished. It’s long and challenging. Scriptures tell us…
 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. (1 Cor. 9:24 – 25, ESV)
Two things we can learn from this verse…

(a) We are all in a race. The question is which race are we running? We are in a race that is not a relay race where one generation watches as one generation finishes. We are in a race that meant working with one generation after another. We no longer live in an age of a baton race, where one runner passes on the baton to the next. We are now running the race together.
(b) There is a prize for those who finish. This is actually something we should be working on. We are not running aimlessly or blindly, we know that God has prepared a prize for us, not just our eternal security, but rewards as well. Although our goal is not the reward, we run because we know that we do have a prize.
What prize awaits us? According to one of my mentors, Pastor Lowell Tallo in one of the chapel preachings, mentioned five types of crowns we will receive. Searching through the archives, the five crowns are listed in the book by Edward Norman, Scattered Harvest (page 116-117).

1. The crown of life (James 1:12): All believers have eternal life (John 3:15-16), but not all believers will be rewarded with the crown of life. This reward crown will be given to those who are “faithful unto death” (Rev. 2:10). To receive this crown, the believer must love the Lord more than his life (Mark 8:35). Thse who live for Christ and endure temptations shall receive this reward (1 Cor. 10:13).

2. The incorruptible crown – the wreath imperishable (1 Cor. 9:24-27): The crown is given to those who master the old nature. To win the imperishable wreath, the believer cannot be a spiritual spectator.

3. The crown of rejoicing and exultation (1 Thes. 2:19-20): This is the soul – winner’s crown. The greatest work of a believer is privileged to do for the Lord is to bring others to the knowledge of Christ. Every soul-winner will shine as the stars forever (Dan. 12:3). God promises that our toil will not be in vain (1 cor. 15:58) and all of heaven will rejoice when the believer receives the crown of exaltation (John 4:36).

4. The crown of righteousness (2 tim. 4:5-8): This crown will be given as a reward to be earned by those who eagerly await the Lord’s return (2 Tim. 4:8).

5. The crown of glory (1 Pet. 5:2-4): This is a special reward for those who are called to be pastors and shepherds.

While we do have eternal life, it is also with a great heart that we look forward to the rewards we will reap. 🙂
  1. alden says:

    wow, thanks pastor, this is very good for my studies of scriptures… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s