Not a fan

Posted: April 15, 2015 in thought to ponder
Tags: , ,

Fast and the furious 7 was out last week in the movies. (I haven’t watched it yet!) The newsfeed is flooded with pictures of Paul Walker and Vin Diesel. Then I saw the mtv…

It’s been a long a day without you my friend
and I’ll tell you all about it when I see you again.

The song was emotional. I could picture out men crying in the movie house. I asked my brother if he had plans to watch it, then he said…

Not a fan.

That was an eye opener. Indeed, there are times when we like something so much that we are a fan. Jesus Christ, on the other hand, isn’t looking for fans. His calling is not to be a fan.

Come, follow me…(Matt. 4:19)

We spend time talking about things we like even if it has no eternal value. We can talk about everything under the sun with our friends. Yet when it comes to what matters most, can we say we aren’t just a fan, that we are a follower of Christ?

Comments
  1. David Guba says:

    This speaks to me. I am not a fan of the films, and struggle daily with being more than a fan of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

