The Breakup Playlist

Posted: July 3, 2015 in thought to ponder
Tags: , , ,

A breakup isn’t easy. After investing time and emotions (as well as finances), there really isn’t a victor in situations as tricky as a breakup. However, it is sometimes necessary to go through a breakup. With this in mind, we still have to be mindful of honoring God’s name in the midst of pain, in the midst of sorrow. We still have to look at life in the perspective of eternity.

#1 We are not immune to heartbreaks.

Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted (2 Tim. 3:12)

While not all breakups are due to our relationship with Christ, remember that as we walk on this earth, we are going to be persecuted for living a godly life. That means we’re not immune to heartbreaks. We are going to experience pain, and there would be times…heartaches.

#2 Suffering is transformative.

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. (James 1:2-4)

Suffering would lead us to strengthen our faith. Indeed, it is when we are in our lowest when we know our need for God. It is when we are at our weakest when we know our need for Jesus. So our breakups are actually helpful in transforming us more into Christ-likeness.

With these two things in mind, let me introduce my break up playlist. This is helpful, in a sense, in refocusing our eyes to where it should be. (Click on the link [song title not the picture] to listen in youtube)

Blessings (Laura Story)

‘Cause what if your blessings come through rain drops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

’nuff said. No need to elaborate on this song on why it is in the breakup playlist.

Steady My heart (Kari Jobe)

Even when it hurts, Even when it’s hard
Even when it all just falls apart
I will run to You ‘Cause I know that You are
Lover of my soul, Healer of my scars
You steady my heart

Instead of running to work, or alcohol, or friends, this song reminds us that we should run to God.

When my heart is torn (Phil Wickham)

There is hope
Beyond the suffering
Joy beyond the tears
Peace in every tragedy

This song reminds us that we aren’t home yet, that we have to look at life in the perspective of eternity. This isn’t the end.

It is well (Oh my soul) (Brandon Heath)

It is well, with my soul,
Here’s my heart, make it whole
For You I live, in You I dwell
Oh my soul
It is well

While this song is an old one, Brandon Heath adds in such a way that it becomes a contemporary version. We have to surrender our broken hearts to God in order for it to be whole again. Then we can sing…it is well, it is well, with my soul!

Broken Hallelujah (The Afters)

When all is taken away, don’t let my heart be changed.
Let me always sing Hallelujah
When I feel afraid, don’t let my hope be erased
Let me always sing Hallelujah.

The lines of the songs hit in the most vulnerable spots. Indeed, we should be able to sing Hallelujah even when our circumstances are beyond comprehension.

Storm (Lifehouse)

I know you didn’t bring me out here to drown
So why am I ten feet under and upside down

Sometimes, we feel like it is the end of the world. This song reminds us that at the end, everything will be alright because of who He is. God is there to catch us, and sometimes, all we need is a little glimpse of what God is already doing in our lives.

Praise you in this storm (Casting Crowns)

But as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

While a faster version of this song would be Tree63’s Blessed be your name, this song reminds us that God is there in our stormy season, and yes, we can praise Him in this storm.

Out of my hands (Matthew West)

Just when I start liking what I see
There you go changing my scenery

Sometimes, we get so comfortable with what we have and we forget that God is still at work in our lives, hence, we need some sifting done. This song reminds us that everything isn’t in our hands and everything happens in His will so we need to learn the art of giving up everything to God.

I am not alone (Kari Jobe)

I am not alone
You will go before me
You will never leave me

Take heart. We are never alone. There really isn’t forever alone. We have Jesus, who is Immanuel, God with us. He promised never to leave us. That should comfort us when the pain reminds us of who left, let the pain also remind us of who is there.

We are not as strong as we think we are (Rich Mullins)

And the Master said their faith was
Gonna make them mountains move
But me, I tremble like a hill on a fault line
Just at the thought of how I lost you
Oh, we are not as strong as we think we are

This one is an old song. But this is a song that can relate to Christians who went through breakups. Sometimes faith and emotions don’t go together but we are reminded that we are frail and small, that we are not really as strong as we think we are. That’s why we need God.

So what’s your playlist? Care to share?

Leave a Reply

