Hindi ko function yan!

Posted: September 17, 2015 in thought to ponder
Tags: , , ,

The vice president was invited to speak in a university. He is running for president in the coming elections. Asked about certain issues, he responded by saying…

Hindi ko trabaho yan. (It’s not my job.)

Wala akong authority. Wala akong power. (I don’t have the authority. I don’t have the power.)

Hindi ko function yan. (It’s not my function.)

binay meme

While his answers generated a lot of feedbacks in Twitterverse, I could not help but compare his answers to a lot of our countrymen when it comes to implementing changes. We (I’m included) would find excuses as why we are not progressing as a country.

I also could not help but compare it to answers we give in church on why the church is not growing.

It’s not my job.

I don’t have the authority.

It’s not my function.

Indeed, it is not only the Vice President that fumbled into the open forum. It reflects each and every one of us who makes excuses on why we don’t get the job done.

Mark Dever, in his blog post said:

Someone who just wants a church desk job in order to get away from the front is not fit to be a pastor.

Stop making excuses. We should work with all of our hearts, after all, we are working for the Lord, not for men (Col. 3:23).

Leave a Reply

