Comfort in the book of suffering

Posted: November 6, 2015 in devotionals
Tags: , , , ,

124b4c48e259fd01786ef7ce98b90637

He sets on high those who are lowly,
and those who mourn are lifted to safety.
Job 5:11

I remember the days when I slept in the dormitory of the school. I can still recall the times when I would sleep under the sound booth. I could think of the years of my “wilderness experience”, of having nothing at all. I know what it feels like to live as if it is my last.

He sets on high those who are lowly…

Yes, God sets people into places. Where I am now is not by chance. Not that I have attained greatness but that God has blessed me on where I am now. Everything around me is just but a reminder of God, the one who provides.

I remember the days of being in the friendzone. The times when chasing after an unrequited love is but a wicked cycle. I could talk of stories of countless heartbreaks, buckets of tears, and numerous journal entries that feels wasted. I could speak of blogs that I have to delete because it is but one story after another of rejection. All I know are “hugot lines” (hugot – Filipino word for “to draw” or “pull out”; hugot lines – accompanying words draw emotions out of people). Then now, this verse is so surreal…

…and those who mourn are lifted to safety.

He has responded to my tears by being the God who comforts (By the way, the Holy Spirit is the comforter [another topic, perhaps]). He showed His love by guiding me through difficult times over and over again. He is indeed the one who brings about healing.

He also said…

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. (Matthew 5:4)

This is a reminder that we don’t really seek happiness the world does. True joy isn’t found in things, or places, or food, but in Him. Thus it makes sense that comfort is found in Him. That He himself will carry those who mourn.

Finding God in the book of Job may be hard for some of us, but reading through this book, may we comfort even in the midst of pain, of sorrow, of suffering. For…

He sets on high those who are lowly,
and those who mourn are lifted to safety.

Leave a Reply

