Christians are Hypocrites

Posted: November 28, 2015 in thought to ponder
Tags: ,

off the mark.jpg

So I got your attention. How do you reply to your friends who say…

“You’re a Christian, why do you sin?” or “You go to church, yet you’re a hypocrite!”

What is our response to this?

Read Luke 12:1-3

There are three things we need to think of when it comes to our response.

#1 Not all who claim to be Christians are Christians.

Jesus said…

“Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you?” (Luke 6:46)

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 7:21)

It’s simple. Not everyone who goes to church are Christians. Not everyone who serves, not everyone who you see and call themselves Christians are Christians.

#2 Some Christians are hypocrites and a hypocrite is someone who pretends they are something when they are not.

Here’s the thing. It’s not just some Christians. It is also politicians. Some leaders. Actors. Actresses. The list goes on.

#3 Most Christians are not hypocrites because to be a Christian meant confessing that you are a sinner.

When people say “You’re a Christian so why do you sin?” the appropriate response is “I am a sinner that is why I need Christ. I have sinned, that is why I am a Christian.”

To put it, a hypocrite is someone who says…

You sin, I don’t.

You struggle, I judge you. You can’t judge me.

So Yeah…I’m a Christian. I sin. But it is Christ that redeemed me, not my works, nor the things I do that makes me a Christian.

Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

