Show no partiality

Posted: October 19, 2016 in devotionals
Tags: , ,

My brothers, show no partiality as you hold the faith in our Lord Jesus Christ, the Lord of glory. – James 2:1

We are partial to people specially when it talks about race.

Think of it, Filipinos would prefer foreigners. We (Filipinos) love white skinned people, to a point that if we watch commercials in tv, products that would stand out are skin whiteners. Our candidates for beauty pageants are of mixed descent (no offense meant). Our necks would turn when we see Caucasians walking in our soil.

In some churches, partiality is seen as we talk of Chinese vs. Filipinos. Special treatment is given to Chinese (since we are a Chinese church after all). We are so concerned about having a Chinese service when church is supposed to bring in all peoples (plural) of all nations to know Jesus.

We also show partiality when it comes to the rich vs. the poor. Would we rather be friends with those who can afford, or those who treat us well?

In the area of studies, we show partiality towards those who are smart, and we give them awards, while those who don’t excel academically, we bully them.

Today, we have extrajudicial killings happening but isn’t that proof enough that we are partial when it comes to who lives and who dies?

I could go on and on but I realized that being partial is indeed in me as well. I am guilty of being partial when it comes to race, when it comes to wealth, when it comes to intellect, and I realize I need to repent, I need to come back to God for this command in James is applicable even to me.

What should we do instead?

James answered it by going back to what Jesus said. Check verse eight. He said, ‘love your neighbor.’

Loving your neighbor because it is a command helps me come to a point of being impartial. I have to show the same treatment to everyone, not just to people who would benefit me.

Leave a Reply

